Beginners Questions

Beginners Questions

Postby Stuart Bates » Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:58 am

Hi all

I got a microscope for Christmas and have been getting used to using it (since I've never owned one before).

I went out the other day and got some Flammulina velutipes and spent a looooooong time trying to get a good enough sample to view in any great detail. After messing around with my thin tweezers, squashing and staining etc... I finally saw the wonders of a mushroom under the microscope... The trouble is, as a beginner, I am yet to figure out just what all these little "sausages" are!! :lol:

Now don't laugh when you look at these photos, I by no means have professional equipment... I stuck my "point & shoot" camera onto the eyepiece and took several pictures until some were "acceptably" visible.

These pictures were all taken from a sample of gill edge tissue.

1) Is the largest, prominent structure (towards the centre of the photo) a cystidia?

2) Again, is the central structure a cystida?

3) If the previous two were cystidia, then what on Earth are these things?

I don't know if these are all basidia, cystidia or just a figment of my imagination at this stage so any help would be greatly appreciated!! :lol:
Stuart Bates

Re: Beginners Questions

Postby Mal Greaves » Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:06 am

Stuart
Welcome to the wonderfully frustrating world of microscopy, which is not a lot different from the wonderfully frustrating world of fungi :?
You have chosen a great fungi to start on the Cheilocystidia ie on the gill edge (rather than the Plurocystidia on the gill face) is almost identical to the basidia.
Basidia often develop no sterigmata and when the cystidia you are looking for are the same club shape it makes the job that much more difficult.
In your case I think the larger element is a Cheilocystidia and the others are basidia in formation.
In future choose something that has distinctive cystidia like this Mycena adscendens with a long spike and short pegs