Hi all

Hi all

Postby Simon Robson » Mon Dec 21, 2009 9:59 pm

My name is Simon Robson and I live in Jersey C.I.

Today I have just received my first microscope a Brunel sp-100 Biological trinocular compound.

Unfortunately I do not know anyone in Jersey with a microscope so this is all very new :o

The sp-100 came with something to attach (technical term) my 5D and lots of fun things like slides cover glass and a slide micrometer!

So I think I will be pestering the group with a lot of basic questions.

My main interests are fungi, entomology and biology.

Living in Jersey we do not have any microscope shops, but I cannot thank http://www.brunelmicroscopes.co.uk enough. Simply excellent service.

So if any of you have any advice for a complete beginner please feel free :D

I will be ordering stains ect soon.

It has been a horrendous year for fungi in Jersey this year terrible weather, still I have a few ids for the group.

Regards,

Simon
Simon Robson

Re: Hi all

Postby admin » Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:11 am

Hello Simon

It's probably too broad a a subject to deal with comprehensively on the forum. However the ABFG has produced a series of articles in the Forayer covering all aspects of basic fungal microscopy and I am sure we can post off some copies to you. In the meantime other forum members may want to offer their own bits of advice. In any event good luck with the microscopy. You will find it quite rewarding once you get the hang of things.

One thing I would say is that the stage micrometer, if it is the usual one that Brunel send out, is unlikely to be of much use. Its calibrations are not fine enough for calibrating your eyepiece graticule (the measuring line up in the top end of the microscope). But we can put you on to an ABFG Jersey member that I suspect will have a good quality stage micrometer. Contact me directly: mj@abfg.org

MJ
Michael Jordan
Forum moderator
admin
Site Admin

Postby jonathan need » Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:47 pm

Hi Simon